Advance with MUSC Health

MUSC Health Transplant Awarded Designations

Advance With MUSC Health
January 07, 2021
Transplant surgery

MUSC Health is proud to announce that it has received a Blue Distinction® Center+ designation in Adult Heart Transplant and the designation of Blue Distinction® Center for Transplant in Adult Kidney Cadaveric, Adult Kidney Living, Pediatric Heart, Pediatric Kidney and Pediatric Liver. BlueCross BlueShield of South Carolina recognizes Blue Distinction Centers for delivering quality care and better overall outcomes for patients while also meeting key requirements for cost-efficiency. BlueCross BlueShield of South Carolina is an independent licensee of the Blue Cross Blue Shield Association.

Derek DuBay, M.D., director of the MUSC Health Transplant Center, is delighted with the news. "This is such an honor, and well deserved. Our goal is to provide the best transplant care and outcomes for our patients, and this is a true testament to our team's excellent work. This recognition really couldn't be possible without the dedication and expertise of our multidisciplinary team. I'm extremely proud."

For more than 25 years, MUSC Health has served as the only solid organ transplant center in South Carolina and has offered complete care for adult and pediatric patients. The MUSC Health Transplant Center has advanced transplant resources, facilities and techniques, and a dedicated staff focused on saving and improving patients' lives.

"Transplant is the ultimate team sport, and this recognition means that we are functioning as a well-oiled machine," says Satish Nadig, M.D., Ph.D., a pediatric and adult transplant surgeon. "As the only pediatric transplant center in the state, it is important that we maintain the highest standards and this pediatric transplant designation reflects the hard work and dedication continuously exhibited by the entire team at Shawn Jenkins Children's Hospital. What an honor."

Blue Distinction® Center designation for transplant differentiates facilities locally and nationally and includes two levels of designation: Blue Distinction® Centers and Blue Distinction® Centers+. Both designations are recognized for their expertise in delivering specialty care. Blue Distinction® Centers+ are also recognized for their cost-efficiency in delivering that specialty care.

To achieve these designations, facilities' transplant programs must demonstrate expertise in delivering safe and effective transplant care. Blue Distinction Centers are nationally designated providers that show expertise in delivering improved patient safety and better health outcomes, based on objective measures developed with input from the medical community and leading accreditation and quality organizations.

Programs are evaluated on objective, transparent selection criteria based on quality, business and cost of care components. Blue Distinction® Center designation for transplant shows they have a history of delivering high-quality care and better results than those without these recognitions. It gives patients the knowledge and tools to find quality transplant care.